ColoRail Passenger newsletter gets new editor

Our paper newsletter, the ColoRail Passenger has a new editor, Chris Spitzer. He takes over from Robert Rynerson, who served as ColoRail’s editor since Issue #1 in August 1988 when what was labeled “an ad hoc group” was formed to fight City/developer plans to evict rail service from Denver Union Station. Originally, the newsletter — typewritten on an electric typewriter — had no name. The eventual name was suggested by member Ron Vander Kooi.

Rynerson previously edited the Alberta, Canada rail advocates’ newsletter. His articles and photographs have been published in six countries and in a variety of media formats. He plans to continue writing and editing his history website:

Chris Spitzer

new editor Chris Spitzer

New Rail Commission Meets in Denver

The SW Chief & Front Range Passenger Rail Commission held its organizational meeting July 31st. Pueblo County Commissioner Sal Pace was elected as Chair, and the Denver Regional Council of Government’s Jacob Riger as Vice-Chair. The Commission formed two committees representing the legislatively directed mission: sustaining and improving SW Chief service in Colorado; and, facilitating the development of Front Range passenger rail. The next meeting will be announced shortly.

Three immediate objectives were adopted by the 13 member Commission. Develop draft legislation for the General Assembly by December 1, 2017; adopt a charter to guide its operations: and, prepare an application for federal funding under the TIGER Grant program (Transportation Infrastructure Generating Economic Recovery) administered by the US Dept. of Transportation. The Charter will outline additional objectives once approved.

SW Chief & Front Range Passenger Rail Commission Formed

The Southwest Chief & Front Range Passenger Rail Commission members have been named.  The Commission will hold its first meeting at Colorado Department of Transportation headquarters July 31st from 2 until 4 pm.  CDOT is located at 4201 East Arkansas Avenue.

The members, and the interests they represent, are:

Salvatore Pace, Pueblo (D)
public rail transportation advocate

Sara Rae Thompson Cassidy, Edgewater (U)
Class I freight railroads that serve Colorado

James Martin Souby, Denver (U)
public rail transportation advocate

Peter James Rickershauser, Denver (U)
Class I freight railroads that serve Colorado

Richard Guy Klein, La Junta (D)
resident of Huerfano, Las Animas, Otero, Prowers or Pueblo counties

Jill Gaebler, Colorado Springs
Pikes Peak Area Council of Governments

Jacob Riger, AICP
Denver Regional Council of Governments,

Terry Sears, Trinidad
South Central Council of Governments

Terry Hart, Pueblo
Pueblo Area Council of Governments

Bill Van Meter, Asst. GM
Regional Transportation District

Mark Imhoff, Denver
Dept. of Transportation, ex-officio, non voting

Ray Lang, Sr. Dir., Govt. Affairs
Amtrak, ex officio, non voting